Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 213

Thread: [HowTo]: Fix suspend and hibernate on laptops

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    PA, USA
    Beans
    113
    Distro
    Gutsy Gibbon Testing

    Lightbulb [HowTo]: Fix suspend and hibernate on laptops

    If the normal suspend and hibernate buttons don't work, you can try this little hack.

    First get uswsusp:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install uswsusp
    Now, test out suspend to see if it works:

    Code:
    sudo s2ram
    If this does not work, you can use

    Code:
    sudo s2ram --force
    Next, try out hibernate:

    Code:
    sudo s2disk
    Now, if one or both of these commands work and you would like to use them, we need to change the command on the shutdown menu to this.

    Note: This part is for FEISTY AND GUTSY ONLY!!! The scripts in Edgy are stored in "/usr/share/hal/scripts" and have different names AFAIK. If someone running Edgy could tell me what the files names are I will add it here.

    First, backup your original files:

    Code:
    sudo cp /usr/lib/hal/scripts/linux/hal-system-power-suspend-linux /usr/lib/hal/scripts/linux/hal-system-power-suspend-linux.bak
    
    sudo cp /usr/lib/hal/scripts/linux/hal-system-power-hibernate-linux /usr/lib/hal/scripts/linux/hal-system-power-hibernate-linux.bak
    Now, edit these two files and replace all the code with this:

    hal-system-power-suspend-linux

    Code:
    sudo gedit /usr/lib/hal/scripts/linux/hal-system-power-suspend-linux
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    /sbin/s2ram --force
    hal-system-power-hibernate-linux

    Code:
    sudo gedit /usr/lib/hal/scripts/linux/hal-system-power-hibernate-linux
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    /sbin/s2disk
    if this breaks stuff, just restore the backup files you made.

    Good luck!
    Last edited by Bluecircle; June 24th, 2007 at 10:03 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Beans
    3,525
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: [HowTo]: Fix suspend and hibernate on laptops

    I know few people having this problem in feisty I will ask them to try this.

    On my laptops there are no problems either on Edgy or Feisty.

    Good work though.
    You came empty handed, that is how you shall leave. Whatever you claim as yours today, belonged to someone else yesterday, will be someone else's tomorrow.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: [HowTo]: Fix suspend and hibernate on laptops

    Excellent!

    This works on my HP Pavilion DV5215us, with xgl and beryl enabled on Feisty

    But, after I hibernate or suspend, my Hibernate and Suspend buttons from the Log off menu are gone!

    UPDATE: Sound didn't work, I have to reboot to get it back.
    Last edited by Unnicknamed; June 16th, 2007 at 12:50 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    2

    Re: [HowTo]: Fix suspend and hibernate on laptops

    Thanks, Bluecircle. The kernalspace (?) suspend/resume stuff (what comes by default) never worked properly on my Toshiba A105. I spent some time long ago trying to figure it out, and eventually because satisfied with only hibernate.

    A couple weeks ago, after some update undoubtedly, fan control started to be flaky on resume---the laptop would sometimes get VERY hot! But following your guide, now suspend and hibernate both seem to work fine.

    The only strange thing I get is that upon resume, Gnome Power Manager reports that there was a problem suspending. So I have to click a checkbox to make that disappear.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    3,114
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: [HowTo]: Fix suspend and hibernate on laptops

    See also this thread

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=417964&page=2

    Probably, the permanent installation of the alternative hibernate routine is safer the way described in the link. I have applied it with success (Dell Latitude D810) under Feisty

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    California
    Beans
    280
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: [HowTo]: Fix suspend and hibernate on laptops

    Many thanks Bluecircle, I will give a try and report back.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Monterrey - Mexico
    Beans
    15
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: [HowTo]: Fix suspend and hibernate on laptops

    tnx!! works fine here
    _________________________
    http://www.kushelmex.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Braunschweig, Germany
    Beans
    175
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: [HowTo]: Fix suspend and hibernate on laptops

    Seems to work fine here too. I have an Asus M2400N Centrino Laptop. It's like 4 years old now.
    I will have to play around with it a little more, but the test run I just did went fine.
    Thank you very much!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    California
    Beans
    280
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: [HowTo]: Fix suspend and hibernate on laptops

    Thanks for the post.

    I tried s2disk and found it resumes much faster (50 secs v 84 secs), than the default hibernate on my Compaq n610c. So far s2ram does work on this system as i can not resume. I think the ATI graphics controller is not recovering correctly and I will try this again when the later uswsusp0.6 gets release as this adds more options such as -v (save the PCI config space for the VGA card).

    If anyone has a Compaq n610c and has s2ram working, please let me know what settings you are using and also report the s2ram -i output to the developers, thanks.

    I will try s2disk and s2ram on my work HP nw8440 laptop soon.

  10. #10
    teasum's Avatar
    teasum is offline Gee! These Aren't Roasted!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: [HowTo]: Fix suspend and hibernate on laptops

    No luck on my Dell inspiron 8600--suspend and hibernate both worked for me in Dapper, but not in Feisty. I've tried several solutions listed here in the forums, but no dice. Everything seems to go down nicely, even with the commands listed in this thread, but when I power up, I get nothing after grub. Does anybody know why the solution listed in this thread works? I'd really like to track down this problem and get it working. Otherwise, I'll have to try and install Dapper again or Edgy. Thanks. Here's my sudo s2ram -i output, if it means anything...

    This machine can be identified by:
    sys_vendor = "Dell Computer Corporation"
    sys_product = "Inspiron 8600 "
    sys_version = ""
    bios_version = "A14"
    Last edited by teasum; June 22nd, 2007 at 10:49 PM.

Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •