Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: S-Video with a GeForce 8400

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    29

    S-Video with a GeForce 8400

    I'm trying to enable S-Video output so i can hookup my TV. I have the latest nVida 1.8 driver installed, but i can't seem to get it to detect an external tv. Any Ideas? I'll post my xorg.conf

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Default Layout"
        Screen         "Default Screen" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Load           "glx"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "keyboard"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Configured Video Device"
        Driver         "nvidia"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Default Screen"
        Device         "Configured Video Device"
        Monitor        "Configured Monitor"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "NoLogo" "True"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
            Modes      "nvidia-auto-select"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enabled"
    EndSection

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Saint Petersburg, FL
    Beans
    1,123

    Re: S-Video with a GeForce 8400

    Nvidia uses a non-standard connector for TV-out, it's a connector with 3 RCA outputs and an S-Video adapter. You have to make sure you have this connector or TV-out will not work.

    Now you can just use a standard 4 pin S-Video cable, but you have to break off the little plastic guide pin in order for it to fit on the back of the video card. With this you'll only get video for x-server, no console mode. So your best bet is to have the special connector out for composite TV if you need console mode.

    The only changes you need to make to your xorg.conf for TV is to add the following:

    Code:
    Section "Device"
            Option          "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"  <- or PAL
            Option          "MetaModes" "1024x768" <- or "800x600"
            Option          "UseDisplayDevice" "TV-0" <- TV only Display
            Option          "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE" <- or S-VIDEO
    EndSection
    If you want to run TV and a monitor or any other options information is available here:

    ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Li...hapter-15.html

    I had an awful time getting my nvidia 6200 TV port to work. I basically got the port to work first with an S-Video cable, a composite adapter, and setting the TVOutFormat option in xorg.conf to "S-VIDEO". Once the picture was established I switched over to the composite output on the connector, got a fuzzy picture, changed the TVOutFormat to "COMPOSITE", and rebooted the computer. Only at that point did the composite TV output, and more important console mode, finally work.
    Last edited by warp99; March 9th, 2009 at 06:20 AM.
    For those new to Ubuntu most of your answers can be found at help.ubuntu.com or ubuntuguide.org

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    29

    Re: S-Video with a GeForce 8400

    I was able to get the TV to show something by using the S-Video connector.

    I had been doing an S-Video to composite adapter. Switching to pure Svideo fixed it.

    However, now this only shows the bios, and ubuntu splash screen. once X kicks in, it goes black.

    When i goto nvidia-settings - it says the TV is disabled, and that i'd need to restart to give it its own X-Session. After X is restarted, the TV display option goes back to being disabled in nvidia settings.

    Here is my new xorg.conf output:

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Default Layout"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "glx"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"

    Option "Xinerama" "1"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "keyboard"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"

    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "auto"
    Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Unknown"
    ModelName "STN SAMTRON"
    HorizSync 30.0 - 85.0
    VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor1"
    VendorName "Unknown"
    ModelName "TV-0"
    HorizSync 28.0 - 55.0
    VertRefresh 43.0 - 72.0
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Configured Video Device"
    Driver "nvidia"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName "GeForce 8400 GS"
    BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
    Screen 0
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device1"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName "GeForce 8400 GS"
    BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
    Screen 1
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Device "Configured Video Device"
    Monitor "Configured Monitor"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Option "NoLogo" "True"
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "nvidia-auto-select"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"

    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Device0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Option "TwinView" "0"
    Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024_60 +0+0"
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"

    Identifier "Screen1"
    Device "Device1"
    Monitor "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Option "TwinView" "0"
    Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "TV-0"
    Option "metamodes" "TV: 640x480 +0+0"
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "Enabled"
    EndSection

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Saint Petersburg, FL
    Beans
    1,123

    Re: S-Video with a GeForce 8400

    Your xorg.conf file is a "mess". Here's a cleaned up version that should work.

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier 	"Default Layout"
    	Screen 0 	"Screen0" 
    	Screen 1 	"Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
    	InputDevice 	"Generic KeyBoard" "CoreKeyboard"
    	InputDevice 	"Mouse" "CorePointer"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier      "Generic Keyboard"
            Driver          "kbd"
            Option          "XkbRules"      "xorg"
            Option          "XkbModel"      "pc104"
            Option          "XkbOptions"    "altwin:super_win"
            Option          "XkbLayout"     "us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier 	"Mouse"
    	Driver 		"mouse"
    	Option 		"Protocol" "auto"
    	Option 		"Device" "/dev/psaux"
    	Option 		"Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    	Option 		"ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier 	"Monitor0"
    	VendorName 	"Unknown"
    	ModelName 	"STN SAMTRON"
    	HorizSync 	30.0 - 85.0
    	VertRefresh 	50.0 - 160.0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier 	"Monitor1"
    	VendorName 	"Unknown"
    	ModelName 	"TV-0"
            HorizSync 	30-50
            VertRefresh 	60
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier 	"Device0"
    	Driver 		"nvidia"
    	VendorName 	"NVIDIA Corporation"
    	BoardName 	"GeForce 8400 GS"
    	BusID 		"PCI:2:0:0"
    	Option          "NoLogo" "True"
           Option          "TwinView"
            Screen          0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier 	"Device1"
    	Driver 		"nvidia"
    	VendorName 	"NVIDIA Corporation"
    	BoardName 	"GeForce 8400 GS"
    	BusID 		"PCI:2:0:0"
            Option          "NoLogo" "True"
            Option          "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
            Option          "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
            Screen          1
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier 	"Screen0"
    	Device 		"Device0"
    	Monitor 	"Monitor0"
    	Option 		"metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024_60 +0+0"
    	SubSection 	"Display"
    		Depth 24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier 	"Screen1"
    	Device 		"Device1"
    	Monitor 	"Monitor1"
    	Option 		"metamodes" "TV: 640x480 +0+0"
    	SubSection 	"Display"
    		Depth 24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
            Option          "AIGLX" "True"
            Option          "Xinerama" "False"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Extensions"
    	Option 		"Composite" "Enabled"
    EndSection
    Last edited by warp99; March 9th, 2009 at 07:15 AM. Reason: Incorrect placement of Twinview option
    For those new to Ubuntu most of your answers can be found at help.ubuntu.com or ubuntuguide.org

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Saint Petersburg, FL
    Beans
    1,123

    Re: S-Video with a GeForce 8400

    After reading your post again you may need to change the following:

    Code:
    Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
    to
    Code:
    Option "TVOutFormat" "S-VIDEO"
    For those new to Ubuntu most of your answers can be found at help.ubuntu.com or ubuntuguide.org

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    29

    Re: S-Video with a GeForce 8400

    My TV can handle composite, and i have those cables from nVidia. Is there any benefit to using that over s-video?

    I'll give this a shot when i get home today.

    Thanks

    ~Jack

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: S-Video with a GeForce 8400

    S-Video is limited in it's actual resolution. I've heard varying numbers but it can't exceed 1280 X 720. It depends on what you intend to do with the TV as to whether it is worthwhile. If it's for watching internet video and DVDs then you'll bt fine with the S-Video. I have a Geforce 9500 GT and use the "HD out" connection from the S-Video. I get a max resolution of 1024 X 768 in Ubuntu, but with huge overscan issues, that are still a work in progress.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Saint Petersburg, FL
    Beans
    1,123

    Re: S-Video with a GeForce 8400

    Quote Originally Posted by paragonconcept View Post
    My TV can handle composite, and i have those cables from nVidia. Is there any benefit to using that over s-video?
    S-Video is suppose to have better picture quality then composite out because of the way the signal is output, but the difference is not that noticeable, well at least not for me. I would use the output that gives you console mode and x-server. In other words TV picture from boot to desktop.

    The real limiting factor is the resolution of analog TV (480 lines of interlaced horizontal resolution). This is why the card is set to a max of 1024x768 for that port. Anything higher is not going to make any difference.
    Last edited by warp99; March 9th, 2009 at 07:30 PM.
    For those new to Ubuntu most of your answers can be found at help.ubuntu.com or ubuntuguide.org

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    29

    Re: S-Video with a GeForce 8400

    So i swapped out my xorg.conf for the one you posted, and changed composite to s-video.

    I still don't get a picture when xorg is active.

    I launched nvidia-settings to see if there was anything in there, and it's still set to disabled.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    29

    Re: S-Video with a GeForce 8400

    I unplugged my Monitor and it worked....

    Is there something i need to do so i can mirror them?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •